Testimonials

My name is Debbie Cooper and I am a Primary Health Care NP. I was selected this year to complete the full QA program with the College of Nurses in Ontario. Once the panic subsided I set out with a plan to better prepare for this task. The Learning Plan and tests were not so much the issue but the OSCEs were terrifying.  I work in a very specialized primary care role (geriatrics) and was unsure whether my skills for all things other than geriatrics were up to par. I decided a preparation course would be useful and I found Sunny Khangura’s NP OSCE Preparation Course on the Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Facebook posts. It was the best money I have ever spent. Sunny’s course was organized and informative.  She provided you with assessment tools prior to meeting for the weekend course. During the course, she helped you organize and perfect your history taking, assessment and care planning skills. On the last day she provided us with an opportunity to do 8 mock OSCEs so we could get used to the timing of each scenario. She provided feedback afterwards indicating our strengths and weaknesses so we could on to further prepare for the big day. The whole weekend was invaluable.  I went in to the OSCEs prepared and that is thanks to Sunny. Would I recommend her to anyone? Absolutely.  Thank you Sunny for preparing me so well in order to achieve success,

Debbie Coooper, BSN, MSN, NP
Ontario OSCE Course – Sept 2019

I highly recommend Sunny’s OSCE Prep course, especially if you have never had to do this type of exam before. Sunny is very knowledgeable about the NP role, and is an excellent teacher. She provides some great tools to help you approach each scenario in a systematic way, and lots of tips for doing an assessment ‘OSCE style’. You will get plenty of practice and feedback during the course to help you feel more comfortable doing your own practice, and then your exam.

Annette Bradfield, BSN, MSN, NP
Ontario OSCE Course – Sept 2019

I signed up for the OSCE prep course with Sunny in the hopes that it would identify areas that needed more attention. But within the first hour I knew I had made the right decision to take the course. Sunny’s broad knowledge and experience in delivering this workshop was obvious from start to finish. As a result, I knew what I needed  to study and how to study in order to pass an OSCE exam.

I believe that this course was key in achieving what ever score I achieved at the CNO OSCE. I recommend anyone who has to do the OSCE take the course. If I get chosen again I would. A joke between myself and another participant was that Sunny successfully OSCEized us!”

Tina Woollings, BSN, MSN, NP
Ontario OSCE Course – Sept 2019

Sunny’s course was instrumental in preparing for the OSCE, especially as a student who attended school outside of BC. The course provided me with templates and a framework for studying, and provided valuable and necessary insight into how the exam is structured, and how best to prepare. The mock OSCE on the last day provided me the opportunity to experience how the real OSCE would “feel,” and the personalized feedback provided by Sunny at the end of the course was very helpful in establishing strengths and weaknesses. I went into the course without any idea of how to begin preparing for the OSCE, and I left the course with a jump-start of readiness, feeling organized, and with a clear plan of how to continue my preparation. Sunny’s course is a must-do for those trained outside BC.

Megan P., BScN, MN, NP
Athabasca University
May 2019

I completed my Nurse Practitioner program through Athabasca University, and as there was no OSCE preparation throughout the program, I was very nervous about the OSCE when I graduated. I came across Sunny’s OSCE prep course and signed up for the course in May 2019.  Sunny’s course was invaluable in helping me to prepare for the OSCE giving me templates for assessing and counselling patients, as well as developing management plans. We practiced head-to-toe physical assessments and Sunny spent a great deal of time answering questions and offering good feedback. There was an amazing mock OSCE on the last day. I can say with 100% certainty there is no way I would have passed the OSCE without this course as I would have had no idea  how to prepare.

Heather A, NP(F), RN, FNE, BN, MN, PMD:NP(F)
Athabasca University
May 2019

This course was a life saver! I would have been lost without it! Being that the AU program is an online program, and there are no portions of the program specific to OSCE exam taking, I found this course essential to my OSCE exam success. Sunny gives you not only fabulous organized and structured tools to use as guides, but amazing hands-on experience. The last day where we got mock-exam practice with true patient actors was amazing. Mimicking what the exam was going to look like was did ease my nerves somewhat as I knew what to expect and how to strategize the scenarios. Her study tools and acronyms were also a life saver. In the heat of the moment and stress, having those to fall back on were great.

This was worth every penny, and any NP preparing for the OSCE should do it! I found even ultimately my clinical skills have become stronger because of it too!!

Christy D., BSN, MSN, NP 
Athabasca University
May 2019

I strongly recommend Sunny’s course, especially if you did not go to a school that routinely used OSCEs. The organized structured approach to the four days provides a foundational basis for studying and reviewing content. I felt prepared and was successful in my first attempt after having taken Sunny’s course.

Sarah C., MN, PMD-NP(F), CNCC(C), NP
Athabasca University 
October 2018

The osce is a very anxiety provoking exam. Despite the training received through the NP program I still had many fears about the exam itself.  Taking Sunny’s course provided me with additional resources and templates for studying. I also was able to review history taking and systematic physical exams with other new graduate NPs. This was not only helpful for studying but a great way to network with others. Finally, the icing on the cake is Sunny’s final day- the mock OSCE exam. The Mock OSCE helped me prepare myself for the real thing… all the bells and whistles. The chaos of patient details at each station made me feel like I was really in the exam, and further helped me anticipate what my needs would be the day of the real OSCE exam. I highly recommend taking this course if you do not feel like you had the proper training for the OSCE itself in your MN program, or if you have, but want any additional teaching to help improve your confidence.

Niki S., BScN, MSN, NP
University of Victoria
October 2018

Sunny’s 4 day OSCE prep course provided me with the tools and direction I needed in order to complete the OSCE. The templates, guidance, feedback, and practice that are included in the course are invaluable. Sunny provides a supportive and inclusive environment for people of all skill levels, and there are opportunities to connect with other NP candidates so that study groups can be formed. The course left me feeling educated in how I should approach my preparation for the OSCE, and ultimately allowed me to feel confident as I completed the OSCE. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Jane E., MN, NP(P)
University of Victoria
October 2018

Having trained and worked as a Nurse Practitioner in California, I didn’t know what to expect of the OSCE or how to prepare for it. While searching for resources, I came upon Sunny’s OSCE Sessions website and decided to sign up for the course, not really knowing what to expect. I am so thankful to Sunny for her excellent and well-designed course. Sunny breaks down the different components of the OSCE, provides invaluable templates to guide studying and creates a non-judgmental environment to practice. In addition, the mock OSCE on the last day was fundamental to understanding the time constraints of the exam. Sunny is knowledgeable, patient, compassionate and invested in the success of her students. I highly recommend this course to anyone preparing for the NP OSCE.

Shaadi S., BScN, MSN, NP
University of California San Francisco
October 2018

I took Sunny’s course in October prior to the December OSCE. It was a great OSCE bootcamp to jump start my studying and get me in the right mindset. The templates she has created guided my practice up until the day of the exam. I would highly recommend the course to anyone who is going to do the OSCE.

Sarah J., BSN, MSN

University of Victoria
October 2018

I moved to BC from out of province, and had no idea what to expect regarding the OSCE exam.  Sunny’s course provided me with everything I needed to prepare.  Her study suggestions, handouts, and the OSCE practice session were invaluable.  She is also incredibly approachable, supportive, and kind.  I highly recommend this course for any NP preparing to take the OSCE.

Andrea W., BScN, MN, NP

Athabasca University
October 2018

I completed my NP education in Toronto and did not get any training in OSCE prep, so I was super stressed and anxious about studying for the OSCE in BC.  After taking Sunny’s course, all my anxiety and stress disappeared. Her templates are fantastic and gave me a systematic way to study and be confident that whatever disease they throw at me, I will be able to handle it. The course was well done and Sunny is super knowledgeable, funny, patient, and kind.  You can tell she is invested in the success of each student. I highly recommended this course. Not only will it provide you with the confidence to pass this horrible exam, but it will make you a better clinician.

Jasveen D., BSc., BEd., BSN, MN-NP (Adult)
University of Toronto
October 2018

Super helpful and well worth my time! Sunny’s 4 day course is succinct, organized and relevant to entry level practice. Sunny is a model instructor who displays passion for what she does and truly cares about those enrolled in her course. It is evident that a considerable amount of time, logistics and effort has been placed in developing this onsite course. In addition, the mock OSCE on the final day is a great opportunity to solidify timeliness, organization and care priorities otherwise hard to replicate on your own. Lastly, the course is also a great opportunity to connect with other candidates and serves as positive momentum for a very important licensing step.

Marina G., BA, BSN, MScN, NP Candidate

University of Northern BC 
April 2018

As a graduate of an online MN program, I was completely at a loss as to how to begin studying for the OSCE and national board exam.  Thankfully, Sunny’s OSCE prep course brought everything into focus.  Not only did she share an understanding of what to expect during the OSCE, she imparted the tools to navigate it, and move confidently forward into practice.  Sunny is an exceptional educator; one whose approach offers a safe, encouraging, and supportive environment in which to practice, as well as constructive, individual feedback to promote success. This is by far the best investment I have made, not only in preparing for the OSCE, but also for my future practice.  Sunny’s methodology would be a valuable framework for nursing institutions to adopt early in their programs to foster stronger clinical skills and knowledge for all NP students.

Karen J., MN, NP Candidate
Athabasca University

April 2018

As an American-trained Nurse Practitioner, I had no clue how to prepare for the OSCE exam and found that very few resources were available. Sunny’s OSCE course was absolutely invaluable as it provided me with the framework, tools, and confidence necessary to prepare for the exam. I highly recommend this course regardless of whether you are a local or foreign trained NP candidate.

Elizabeth P., BA, BSN, MSN, NP 

Georgetown University
October 2017

I really enjoyed Sunny’s OSCE prep course and found it super helpful! I feel much more confident and prepared having now done the course. It was a great review of history taking and physical exams. I loved Sunny’s clear and systematic approach to the OSCE. I also really appreciated her personal support and individual feedback throughout the course!

Jenny W., BSN, NP candidate
University of British Columbia
April 2017

Sunny’s NP OSCE Prep course was excellent. I did her new 4-day course which included 1 day each to focus on history-taking, physical assessment, and counselling/management stations. It is all interactive practice with partners, and the last day is a 10-station mock OSCE, set out very similarly to how the actual OSCE is done. Sunny observes each student during the course and mock OSCE and provides a personalized assessment and study advice for each student at the end of the course. She also makes herself available for questions via email or phone after your complete the course up until you complete the OSCE, and even after the OSCE to debrief. She tells you the truth about what she thinks about your chances of success and sets you up for success in terms of what you need to do moving forward! I highly recommend it to any students- it’s worth the extra expense, I think especially for those like me that had several extra months of non-practice lapse between completing course work and completing the OSCE (for me, 9 months total), and who need help to kick-start their study efforts. I felt more confident immediately after taking the course, and the networking was great for setting up more study sessions with other candidates. Having just completed the OSCE, I can say that her templates are a life-saver to keep you organized and on track even when you feel lost. Highly recommended- you won’t regret it!

Tasenka K., BSN, MN, NP Candidate
University of Northern British Columbia
April 2017

After attending Sunny’s 4 day OSCE course, I felt much more prepared for the OSCE itself.  The 1 day mock OSCE at the end was very realistic and helped me realize which areas needed further study.  The atmosphere with Sunny and the volunteers was very supportive and I would highly recommend this course for any NP preparing for the OSCE.

Bonnie G., BSN, MN, NP Candidate
April 2017

I wanted to comment on the wonderful learning experience provided in your SOS 4-day OSCE Prep course held this past weekend in Vancouver.  You provide a positive learning experience based on understanding and sound reasoning. The course provides the tools and teaches candidates how to use and apply them for success in the BCNP-OSCE. I must say that the course is first class, well run, and that you are a born educator with a kind and supportive approach. The final mini-OSCE on day four is brilliant and a real eye-opener!  I like think of you as the Canadian Fitzgerald working to make any NP who takes your course, for any reason, better and more confident.

I am an Athabasca graduate and have worked in a walk-in clinic for several years.  Your systematic approach is making my brief patient encounters easier to manage and my histories more focused and complete.  So for me, no matter what the outcome of the OSCE itself, this course has boosted my confidence and made me a better provider overall.

Nursing education all across the country would do well to look to you and your prep-course as a blueprint to ensure NPs are prepared for entry into a very demanding field.

You have replaced panic with a plan. Thank you.

Kim G., BSN, MN, NP Candidate
University of Athabasca
April 2017

 The 4-day OSCE prep course with Sunny was a positive and extremely worthwhile experience for me.  Not only was the prep course informative, well-organized, and meticulously planned out, Sunny genuinely cared about helping all NP candidates pass the OSCE.  Both engaging and encouraging, she provided honest, constructive, and in-depth feedback that I was not able to get from the NP program alone.  I highly recommend Sunny’s OSCE prep course to anyone who is planning to do the OSCE.  I am glad I did!

Kevin C., BSN, MN, NP Graduate
University of British Columbia
April 2017

Sunny’s OSCE prep was, hands down, the best investment I could have made in preparation for the upcoming OSCEs. Through an online MN(NP) program, there is very little time for hands on practice and consolidation of skills outside of the practicums, and Sunny’s course has given me the chance to apply my skills in a safe learning environment with constructive feedback. Sunny is an exceptional teacher and mentor, and her approach to teaching put me at ease and gave me more confidence. It is clear she is passionate about helping students succeed, and this is evident in her preparation and execution of the course – it was impeccably delivered!

I cannot say enough about Sunny’s course, and regardless of where and when you trained, this course will prepare you for both the OSCEs and entry to practice.

Crissy S., RN, MN, CDE, NP candidate
University of Saskatchewan
April 2017

Few things can equate the excitement and relief I felt when I received my OSCE result and PASSED on the first go! Sunny’s OSCE prep course was a significant part of setting the stage for that success. Having graduated from an out of province NP program, I was unfamiliar with the OSCE process and anxious that I did not have the same ‘practice’ experience as colleagues educated in BC. After the first morning of Sunny’s course I knew that I had a tremendous amount of review to do, but also knew that the tools, practice and networking Sunny provided would be the foundation I needed to move forward with confidence. Juggling a 2 year old and 7-month-old baby meant my study sessions had to be focused and efficient – frankly, I would not have been able to achieve this without this prep course. From history taking to patient counselling to the OSCE simulation on the final day, Sunny is a passionate instructor who supports each student in developing a methodological approach that best facilitates success.

Marie M.,BSN, NP Candidate
University of Athabasca
September 2016

I completed my program a year ago and have not been practicing in a clinical setting so I was feeling very unprepared for the OSCE. I heard about Sunny’s course and felt I needed the refresher and practice. Sunny provides a safe and supportive environment that is conducive to learning and she ensures you meet the goals of the course. The practice OSCE was so realistic to what we are going to encounter and let’s you know where you may need improvement for the real OSCE. If you are debating taking this course and are asking yourself if you can afford to take it…believe me when I tell you that you can’t afford NOT to take it. I highly recommend this course to anyone planning to take the OSCE. You will feel much better prepared and know where you stand when you finish the four days with Sunny.

Kelly R., BSN, NP candidate
Memorial University of Newfoundland
April 2017

Sunny’s course is an excellent refresher for Nurse Practitioners new to practice and for those needing to pass the CRNBC OSCE exam. I highly recommend her course before writing your exam. Sunny delivered a well run and informative class that is timely and relevant. I was taking her course with my newborn and she was more than accommodating to myself and my infant.

Shandalin O, BSN, NP candidate
University of Northern British Columbia
April 2016

I was completely lost when I started to study for the OSCEs, I had no clue where to begin. I was put in touch with Sunny and arranged private tutoring with her to get me on the right track. Her OSCE prep course highlighted which topics to cover, gave specifically designed templates for the different areas of the exam, and reviewed physical examinations.  When I finished I knew that I needed to continue studying but with her outline and continued guidance and support, I was confident that I would pass…and I did on the first try! Honestly, Sunny was my key to OSCE success.

Erin G., RN, BSN, NP candidate
University of Athabasca
April 2016

Sunny’s course came highly recommended to me in preparing to take the BC OSCEs. I went to school out of province and had not had any experience doing OSCEs in my program. I had no idea how to study for them, or even where to start. Sunny’s course provided me with concrete examples of possible OSCE scenarios, in-person practice working through and breaking down scenarios, and practical study tips and strategies. This course is certainly a must-take for anyone struggling with preparing to sit the OSCE!

Jill C., RN, BSN, NP candidate
University of Toronto
September 2016

I just wanted to let you know how grateful I am that you offered the OSCE prep course. As a recent graduate of the University of Toronto and with successful completion of the Nurse Practitioner national board exam I still felt at a loss as to how to prepare for the BC OSCEs. Your course provided me with the comprehensive tools necessary to prepare appropriately for the oral exam. I appreciated all your tips and templates that will be necessary to address every type of question that may be asked of me during the exam. Your mock OSCEs were excellent with a very realistic set up and procedure. I would recommend anyone preparing for the BC NP OSCEs to take this course, as it provided not only essential tools, advice on how to study efficiently, but also the optimistic confidence to success on exam day.

Catherine B.,BSN, MSN-NP
University of Toronto
September 2016

Sunny’s OSCE prep course gave everyone in the OSCE prep group, including myself, the tools needed to pass the OSCE.  The practical tips, the practice scenarios, and the mock OSCE, left me with a real sense of how to tackle studying for, and passing, the OSCE.   Thank you Sunny for sharing your knowledge and for doing so in such a kind manner

Shannon J., BSN, NP Candidate
University of Athabasca
September 2016

OSCE Prep! Thank you Sunny! Sunny’s course saved me time and anxiety in prepping for the NP OSCEs. Her course not only helped me come up with a study plan, but it also connected me with a group of individuals who are also on the same path and timeline. Sunny is also an amazing facilitator who is funny, organized, and very informative! The prep work, in class sessions, and mock OSCE is exactly what I needed! I highly recommend this course for anyone preparing to sit for the OSCEs!!”

Monica G., RN, BSN, NP candidate
University of Athabasca
September 2016

I was fortunate enough to take the course from Sunny.  I have to commend her vision, passion, and ability to deliver a high quality educational experience for nurse practitioners interested in successfully passing the OSCE exam in British Columbia.  While some of the educational institutions in BC offer OSCE prep, for NPs who have completed their course via distance at other institutions such as Athabasca or U of T, and/or NPs who are from other provinces wanting to re-locate to BC, it is well worth the investment.  The class sizes are small, to allow for individual feedback.  The tips, suggestions, resources are all practical and applicable for any NP new or experienced.  I am most grateful for the opportunity to learn amongst wonderfully passionate, knowledgeable, and skilled NPs in the course.  Sunny’s energy, enthusiasm, and desire for you as the student to succeed is clearly evident.  I would (and have) recommend this course to other NPs.

Karen A., BSPE, RN, BN, MSc, MN, PhD, NP (F)
University of Athabasca
September 2016

As a practicing NP from another Canadian province with no prior OSCE exposure, taking Sunny’s OSCE prep course for nurse practitioners greatly helped me prepare for both the required content and the process of the OSCE in British Columbia. The level of knowledge translation, through history taking, physical examination, counselling and management plan development, with practice scenarios and peer support, was exceptional.

Katherine B., NP Candidate
University of Victoria
November 2014

I took Sunny’s OSCE prep course and couldn’t be more thankful for doing so. It gave me both the practical skills and mental preparation required for such a big exam. Everything from the notes she provides to the scenarios that she runs was extremely beneficial. She goes above and beyond to make sure everyone truly succeeds on the OSCE.

April S., RN, BSN, NP Candidate
University of British Columbia
June 2014

To me, the most significant result from Sunny’s course was that it gave me a plan for not only how to tackle preparation for the OSCE, but also a strategy to succeed during the exam itself, regardless of the particular disease or scenario that may present itself.  Her stepwise strategy really gave me the confidence I needed, and her course melted away much of the fear of the unknown that I had building regarding this extremely high-stakes exam.  I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to learn from Sunny’s vast experience and knowledge base.”

Aria C., RN, BSN, NP Candidate
University of Toronto
September 2016

I attended Sunny’s 3 day OSCE prep course in September 2016. I live in Manitoba and have been a practicing NP here for just over 2 years. I graduated from Athabasca University in late 2013, wrote my NP licensing exam in May 2014 and became licensed to practice in June 2014. I am now hoping to relocate to BC and to practice there so I need to complete the OSCE exam. I found that attending Sunny’s course was the most important and helpful thing I could have done to prepare for the OSCE’s. Prior to her course my study and preparation efforts consisted mainly of reading prep guides and reviewing materials. Sunny’s course was an excellent, intensive 3 day experience, with opportunity to experience what it will be like in the OSCE exam, lots of hands on practice, invaluable tips to prepare and opportunity to begin formulating an organized approach to prepare as well as countless specific tips, strategies and drills to prepare me for the OSCE experience. It was intensive, and certainly helped me to appreciate the effort, attention to detail, organization and focus required to be prepared to complete this test. I also appreciated the in-depth preparation for the actual experience of the OSCE day, what to expect, how to maximize my chances for communicating my knowledge and skills effectively to the examiners, and cautions about pitfalls and what not to do. I personally had only very limited experience with OSCE testing through my education at Athabasca, which was almost completely distance-based, so for me particularly her course was also an eye-opener regarding what to expect, and the degree of preparation required to be successful with the OSCE exam. Thank you so much, Sunny, for a most appreciated intensive 3 day experience. I am using your advice, tips and suggested study and practice methods daily as I prepare for November 20th!

Friederike B., RN, BSN, NP Candidate 
University of Manitoba
September 2016

I learnt a great deal from taking Sunny’s course. A lot of pertinent material was covered and the course thoroughly prepared me for the OSCE. A number of different scenarios were presented which were very helpful. The mock/practice OSCE that took place towards the end of the course was extremely beneficial. I would highly recommend the course.

Nadeem R., RN, BSN, NP Candidate
University of British Columbia
June 2014